A Better Niagara is endorsing candidates who believe in integrity, transparency, and accountability.

A Better Niagara (ABN) is pleased to introduce our endorsed candidates for the October 22nd municipal election. The endorsement process included face-to-face interviews with A Better Niagara representatives and a resume review. As well, all endorsed candidates have signed a pledge, promising to act with integrity and to be transparent and accountable in conducting their responsibilities when elected.

A Better Niagara will continue to interview and endorse candidates as the election nears. As new candidates are endorsed they will be added to our website, listed by municipality. Announcements will also be made on our Facebook page.

Incumbent regional Councillors and Mayors will be evaluated separately from our endorsement process. A Better Niagara is either supporting, not supporting or remaining neutral on Incumbent Regional Councillors and Mayors depending on how they voted on seven key votes that directly relate to the current crisis at the Region. For the chart that we have created that tracks how each Councillor voted click here. The supported incumbent Regional Councillors appear in the list below.

Given the number of candidates running locally and regionally in Niagara’s 12 municipalities, it is unlikely that we will be able to interview everyone, and of course, there will also be candidates who don’t seek our endorsement. However, we are confident that, by the time early voting commences, we will have a wide variety of endorsed candidates who are as diverse as the people they hope to serve, and who are also committed to bringing good governance back to our communities.


Fort Erie

Local Councillor, Ward 4 (1 to be elected)

Pati Habermann (289-821-0961, patiward4@gmail.com, Twitter: @patiward4, www.patiward4.ca)

 

Local Councillor, Ward 5 (1 to be elected)

Leah Feor (905-351-0588, leahfeor@gmail.com, https://www.facebook.com/VoteLeahFeor, Twitter - @leahfeor, www.voteleahfeor.ca)

 

Grimsby

Mayor

Jeff Jordan (289-235-7736, votejeffjordan@gmail.com, Facebook: VoteJeffJordan, votejeffjordan.ca)

 

Regional Councillor (1 to be elected)

Wayne Fertich (905-945-6697, wfertich@cogeco.ca)

 

Alderman, Ward 1 (2 to be elected)

Cindy Aiken (906-309-1722, cindyaiken.w1@gmail.com)

Reg Freake (416-706-2687, rfreake@grimsbyforyou.ca, https://www.grimsbyforyou.ca)

Kevin Ritchie (kevindritchie@hotmail.com, www.facebook.com/kevinritchiealderman, Twitter: @kevinritchie)

 

Alderman, Ward 2 (2 to be elected)

Dave Kadwell (905-945-8259, davekadwell@cogeco.ca)

Lianne Vardy (289-235-9485, liannevardy56@gmail.com, Facebook: elect Lianne Vardy Grimsby Ward 2)

 

Alderman, Ward 3 (2 to be elected)

Ryan Day (905-730-4078, job214@msn.com)

Randy Vaine (289-260-8823, rvaine@gmail.com, www.voterandyvaine.com)

 

Alderman, Ward 4 (2 to be elected)

Dorothy Bothwell (905-536-5492, votebothwell@gmail.com, Facebook: Elect Dorothy Bothwell, www.dorothybothwell.ca)

Dave Sharpe (905-962-1855, votedavesharpe@gmail.com, Facebook: VoteDaveSharpe)

 

Lincoln

Regional Councillor (1 to be elected)

Rob Foster (905-324-2304, rjfoster@sympatico.ca, www.robfoster.ca)

 

Local Councillor, Ward 1 (2 to be elected)

Dianne Rintjema (905-246-5335, diannerintjemaward1@gmail.com, diannerintjema.wordpress.com)

Erik Rogerson (905-563-7161, rogerson.erik@gmail.com, Facebook: erikrogersonward1, www.erikrogerson.com)

 

Local Councillor, Ward 2 (2 to be elected)

Tony Brunet (905-563-5911, tony.brunet3998@hotmail.com)

John Pachereva (905-653-1780, C-905-933-1333, Jd.pachereva2@sympatico.ca, jdpachereva.ca)

 

Local Councillor, Ward 3 (2 to be elected)

Paul MacPherson (905-562-7097, macphersonpaul3@gmail.com, macphersonforlincoln.ca)

Mike Mikolic (905-708-9621, mike.mikolic@gmai.com, Facebook: mikemikolic, Twitter: mikemikolic)

Dave Thompson (daveathompson.dat@gmail.com, Facebook: @Thompson4Lincolnward3, Twitter: @DThompson4Ward3, Instagram: reelectdaveathompsonward3, daveathompson.com)

 

Local Councillor, Ward 4 (2 to be elected)

Greg Reimer (gregreimer@gmail.com, Facebook: Greg Reimer, Twitter: @GregReimer21, Instagram: GregReimer21)

Lynn Timmers (905-563-7162, lynntimmers4@gmail.com, Twitter: @linclynn)

 

Niagara On The Lake

Mayor

Betty Disero (905-468-7929, info@bettydisero.ca, Twitter: @bettydisero, bettydisero.ca)

 

Local Councillor (8 to be elected)

Norm Arsenault (289-214-8836, norm4council@gmail.com, Facebook: Norm Arsenault, normfornotlcouncil.com)

Allan Bisback (905-468-8550, C-289-241-9977, abisback@bell.net, www.allanbisback.com)

Gary Burroughs (905-468-3568, burroughs2.gary@gmail.com, www.garyburroughs.ca)

Terry Davis (905-468-9986, tldavis3011@gmail.com, terrydavisnotl@gmail.com)

Stuart McCormack (905-371-5659, stuartmccormack18@gmail.com, https://www.stuartmccormack.com)

Sandra O'Connor (289-868-9310, sandra.oconnor.notl@gmail.com, Facebook: sandra.oconnor.notl, Twitter: @SandraO_NOTL, www.sandraoconnornotl.ca)

 

Niagara Falls

Regional Councillor (3 to be elected)

Dave Eke (289-296-6848, eMail: dave@daveeke.com, Website: daveekeforregion.com Facebook: Dave Eke for Regional Council Niagara Falls

Barbara Greenwood (905-358-7226, C-905-988-2510, bbgreenwood@cogeco.ca, www.barbaragreenwood.ca, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6JusHsjeaR8)

Dianne Munro (905-295-9383, dbmunro@icloud.com, diannemunro.com, Facebook: Dianne Munro for Regional Councillor)

 

Local Councillor (8 to be elected)

Gary Baker (905-351-2202, gbaker153@cogeco.ca, www.gary-baker.com)

Carolynn Ioannoni (carolynnioannoni@me.com, www.carolynnioannoni.com)

Jamie Jones (289-686-0192, Jamie_jones18@hotmail.com, votejamiejones.com)

Lori Lococo (905-357-5902, lori@lorilococo.com, www.lorilococo.com)

Margie Manker (margie@margiemanker.ca, margiemanker.ca)

Rich Merlino (905-401-2626, onerich@cogeco.ca, Facebook: Vote Rich Merlino Niagara Falls City Council, Twitter: @richmerlino.ca, Instagram: richmerlino1, www.richmerlino.ca)

Angela Peebles (905-351-8655, angelapeebles2018@gmail.com, www.angelapeebles.ca)

Karen Stearne (905-358-7392, info@KarenStearne.com, www.karenstearne.com)

 

Pelham

Regional Councillor (1 to be elected)

Dave Augustyn (905-380-9120, dave@augustynforpelham.ca, https://augustynforpelham.ca)

 

Port Colborne

Mayor

Betty Konc (905-380-6432, bettykoncformayor@gmail.com, https://www.facebook.com/betty.konc)

 

Regional Councillor (1 to be elected)

Barb Butters (905-834-4005barbbutters@gmail.com, https://www.facebook.com/barbara.butters.16)

 

Local Councillor, Ward 1 (2 to be elected)

Norbert Gieger (votenorbertward1@gmail.com)

 

Local Councillor, Ward 4 (2 to be elected)

Karen Desjardins (905-984-7139, karen.fieldandforest@gmail.com, Facebook: karen.desjardins.ward4)

 

St. Catharines

Regional Councillor (6 to be elected)

Mo Al Jumaily (905-932-3332, aljumailymo@gmail.com, Facebook: Vote-Al-Jumaily-for-Region, www.youtube.com/watch?v=f8hgj7qWplY)

Haley Bateman (905-246-3999, haley@haleybateman.ca, www.haleybateman.ca)

Jim Bradley (289-969-7708, electBradley2018@gmail.com, www.Bradley4Region.com)

George Darte (905-687-6066, gdarte@yahoo.com, georgedartecampaign.com)

Rob Depetris (905-929-8948, robdepetris@gmail.com, http://www.voterobdepetris.ca)

Kelly Edgar (kellyedgar.ca)

Mark Elliott (905-380-9308, elliott4region@gmail.com, Facebook: Elliott4Region, Twitter: Elliott4Region, Instagram: elliott4region, www.mark-elliott.ca)

Brian Heit (905-935-8377, bheit@cogeco.ca, www.brianheit.ca)

Laura Ip (905-984-0741, laura@lauraip.ca, https://lauraip.ca)

Debbie MacGregor (Facebook: Debbie MacGregor St. Catharines)

Frank Rupcic (905-324-0201, frankrupcic@gmail.com, Facebook: Vote Frank Rupcic, Twitter: @frankrupcic, https://frankrupcic.ca)

Emily Beth Spanton (289-501-7957, emily@emilybeth.ca, Facebook: @emilybethsc, Twitter: @whatdoesntkillu, Instagram: @emilybeth_sc, emilybeth.ca)

Len Stack (289-214-7669, lstack6@cogeco.ca)

 

Local Councillor, Ward 1 - Merritton (2 to be elected)

Lori Littleton (905-988-0170, votelittleton@gmail.com, Twitter: votelittleton18, Instagram: votelittleton, votelittleton.ca)

Greg Miller (905-931-3622, greg@millerformerritton.com, www.millerformerritton.com)

 

Local Councillor, Ward 3 - St. George's (2 to be elected)

Brody Longmuir (905-327-1817, brodyalongmuir@gmail.com, https://brodylongmuir.ca)

Vicky-Lynn Smith (smithvickilynn3@gmail.com, Facebook: @vickilynn2018)

Kevin Townsend (Kevintownsendward3@outlook.com, Facebook: Kevin Townsend for St. George's Ward)

 

Local Councillor Ward 4 - St. Patrick's (2 to be elected)

Robin McPherson (905-684-9393, votemcpherson@gmail.com, www.voterobinmcpherson.com)

Karrie Porter (905-650-4076, karrie@karrieporter.ca, www.karrieporter.ca)

 

Local Councillor Ward 5 - Grantham (2 to be elected)

Jeff Brooks (289-362-6088, brooks4abettertomorrow@gmail.com, Facebook: Jeff Brooks for Grantham Ward, Instagram: @brooks4abettertomorrow)

Dawn Dodge (905-327-9704, dodge4grantham@outlook.com, Instagram - vote4dawndodge8, Facebook: Dawn Dodge 4 Grantham, http://dodge4grantham.com)

Dennis Van Meer (905-359-9233, electvanmeer4grantham@gmail.com, Facebook: www.facebook.com/electvanmeer, Twitter: twitter.com/DennisVanMeer5, Instagram: www.instagram.com/elect_vanmeer, www.electvanmeer.ca)

 

Local Councillor Ward 6 - Port Dalhousie (2 to be elected)

Carlos Garcia (905-937-7012, GarciaPortDalhousie@gmail.com, Facebook: N Carlos Garcia, Twitter: @GarciaDalhousie)

Jeff Mackie (905-401-1721, jeff@jeffmackie.ca, www.facebook.com/VoteMackiePort, Instagram - @VoteMackiePort, Twitter - @VoteMackiePort, www.jeffmackie.ca)

Bruce Williamson (905-934-2787, cbrucewilliamson@gmail.com, Facebook: @Bruce_W1, Twitter: @Bruce_W1, vote4williamson.com)

 

Thorold

Mayor

Henry D'Angela (905-227-8298, dangela@vaxxine.com, Facebook: www.facebook.com/Henry D'Angela, www.henrydangela.ca)

Terry Ugulini (905-227-0160, O-905-227-1038, elect.terryugulini@gmail.com, Facebook: terryugulini, Twitter: @terryugulini, Instagram: @terryugulini, www.terryugulini.com)

 

Regional Councillor (1 to be elected)

Ted Luciani (905-227-8733, tedluciani@gmail.com, Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ted.luciani, Instagram: lucianited)

Tim Whalen (905-227-8397, whalen53@outlook.com, Facebook: tim.whalen.940098)

 

Local Councillor (8 to be elected)

Carmen DeRose (289-407-3879, carm.derose@gmail.com)

David (Jim) Handley (905-680-5141, C-289-219-0034, jimhandley@outlook.com, Facebook: jim.handley.79)

Anthony Longo (905-680-5216, longoforthorold@gmail.com)

Sergio Paone (905-227-9776, spaone@primus.ca)

Ken Sentance (905-227-5859, Facebook: ken.sentance)

Sebastian Soccio-Marandola (289-241-2940, s.socciomarandola@gmail.com, Facebook: Sebastian Soccio-Marandola for Thorold City Council, sebastianforcouncil.ca)

 

Wainfleet

Mayor

Richard Dykstra (905-899-2157, rndx6@live.com, Facebook: Richard Dykstra for Mayor of Wainfleet)

 

Local Councillor (4 to be elected)

Rob Houle (905-414-8657, houlio45@hotmail.com, Facebook: Elect Rob-Houle - an alderman for ALL Wainfleet, Twitter: @RobHoule55)

Tom Staton (905-380-9182, testaton@hotmail.com, Facebook: Tom Staton for Wainfleet Alderman)

 

Welland

Regional Councillor (2 to be elected)

Pat Chiocchio (pchiocchio@cogeco.ca, Facebook: Pat Chiocchio for Regional Council, pchiocchio4regionalcouncil.ca)

George Marshall (905-734-4851, georgemarshall1@gmail.com, Facebook: GeorgeMarshallforNiagaraRegion, Twitter: GeorgeM40814464, www.ghmarshall.ca)

Leanna Villella (905-650-2198, leanna4niagararegion@gmail.com, Instagram: leanna4niagararegion, Facebook: LeannaVillellaForRegion, Twitter: @LeannaVillellaForRegion)

 

Local Councillor Ward 3 (2 to be elected)

John McNall (905-714-4357, johnmcnall3@gmail.com)

Lucas Spinosa (905-714-6609, lucas@blacksheeplounge.ca, www.spinosa2018.com)

 

Local Councillor Ward 4 (2 to be elected)

Bryan Green (905-933-2274, bryan.green4ward4@outlook.com, Facebook: Bryan Green, 4 Ward 4 City of Welland Council, www.bryangreen4ward4.com)

Melissa McGlashan (289-843-7442, Melissa4ward4@gmail.com, Facebook: Melissa for Welland City Council - @Melissa4Ward4, Twitter: @McGlashan_M, www.MelissaMcGlashan.ca)

 

Local Councillor Ward 6 (2 to be elected)

James Takeo (Jamestakeo2018@gmail.com)

 

West Lincoln

Local Councillor, Ward 3 (2 to be elected)

Nicholas Beaudin (289-237-8974, nicholas.s.beaudin@gmail.com)

connect

get updates

Liquid syntax error: Error in tag 'subpage' - No such page slug